top of page

Reflection: Annotated Bibliography Workshop

For this workshop, we got together with our small writing groups to share and critique our annotated bibliographies. My topic was kind of hard to find sources for, so my bibliography was not as complete as I felt it should be. Discussing it with my group helped me figure out what direction I should probably head in so that I can make sure I have all of my sources, especially my academic ones. It was quickly established that I was focusing too much on the sketch comedy aspect of my research paper rather than the texts I chose to analyze. Switching from looking solely for information on sketch comedy to things related to sketch comedy will hopefully prove to make my research much easier.

I was also a little unsure about how I formatted my annotated bibliography, especially when it came to my interview. Thankfully, that was also easily solved and I was able to make sure my bibliography followed the format set by MLA. I feel a little more comfortable with how my bibliography looks, and what it contains.

One thing we all had an issue with was writing the little blurb under the annotation about what we used from the source. We were worried that what we wrote would be too little, but after little bit of discussion, we realized that some sources really only a need a single sentence to describe what's in them.

Overall, the workshop has made me feel a bit more confident in my annotated bibliography and I'm less worried about it.

bottom of page